Only Missed the Start by One Day

So I thought I’d jump in on the bandwagon, albeit a day late. But as they say better calmly drinking tea than scrambling around looking for the coffee – by the way I hid it in a place you’ll never find … well maybe you will, but that is not the point.

A couple of my classmates have taken up NaNoWriMo (or National Novel Writing Month) and NaBloPoMo, which sounds more like some new release of the Teletubbies than it does National Blog Posting Month. I have let myself be convinced to jump in, because I had said that I’d blog about what I was doing in Sudbury and so far I really haven’t,

The idea behind NaBloPoMo is not to rekindle our love for odd British TV characters, but to write a blog post everyday for the month. So here goes, and wish me luck. The challenge today at this late hour would be: a theme! So let’s go with … Transcribing, because that is what I have been doing for the last three days.

The end result of this three-day adventure of locking myself in a room, with my transcription pedal and a lot of tea – as a side note, don’t actually lock yourself in a room with lots of tea. Tea is a diuretic. That tea has to go somewhere and it wants to get there fast. And if the door is locked and you’re fumbling for the key, because your teeth are floating … well I think you get the idea.

Now the end result of these three days has been a wonderful set of documents that I now can compare for rhetorical strategies, but it has also renewed a incredible irritation for people shifting in their chairs, talking during lectures and generally coughing … so much coughing. I would have thought I was listening to an asthmatic’s convention and not to a recording of a lecture on the false dichotomy between creationism and evolution.

This is one of the things that I am really enjoying about the program. The chance to attend lectures, or have guest speakers on the issues faced in science communication; like the evolution and creationist question. I won’t go into detail about these lecture, because I’m working with a classmate on a joint blog for the Science Communication Program’s website. So you’ll just have to wait patiently.

Until then, you can come back here to see what other themes I come up with to fill this one blog a day requirement during a month that requires my attention actually be focussed on things like papers, essays, research proposals and communication plans. Stay tuned and get a first hand look at the inner workings of a student under pressure.

