Some Sunny Days

I finally got to put all the image of the Sun that I took through June and July into a short animated sequence that I showed for the first time at the Manitoba Museum’s Planetarium. I thought I would share the images here as well, because I know a number of friends and family didn’t get the chance to make it to the planetarium.

Unfortunately I can only show the flat images I took and not some of the cooler modifications that I could do using the Planetariums digital system. Using some software I managed to wrap these images onto half a sphere that we could put up on the dome, and I even a full map of the sunspots in July. I used the map as a surface texture for the digital systems model of the Sun. All really cool and nerdy!

I hope you enjoy this short little sequence, it was a fun and time consuming project. I can’t wait to get out again and do some solar imaging, but for now my studies are taking priority.

This sequence of images was capture using my 80mm Orion GoScope and a white light solar filter. I used my Canon T3i attached to a 10mm eyepiece.

This sequence of images was capture using my 80mm Orion GoScope and a white light solar filter. I used my Canon T3i attached to a 10mm eyepiece.

