Two Weeks in Sudbury

I fear I may have to give up my inflated ego, if only to make room for all the new things I am learning. That is perhaps the best summary of the last two weeks.

I have learnt a lot. How to find my way around some of the alleys and byways of Sudbury (much to the thanks of my classmates and roommates who seam to have a better grasp of the transit system here), details about my cohort of classmates (and I know that there are many surprising discoveries yet to come – the number of us that have dabbled in the fibre arts is rather astonishing), I have started to get a handle on the inundation of readings and assignments, most of which are amazing, if not slow reads, and I feel I should add that I have learnt to be social here as well (from swing lessons to two am bar visits, it is definitely a different side of the leaf for me).

Extolling all the wondering things that I have undertaken this last two weeks sounds tempting, but, my dear friends and family, I just don’t think I have time. As I write this I am remembering a small detail here left undone and yet another over there that needs my attention. From social media’s double edge value, to the rhetorical changes from forensic to epideictic and its consequences, to balancing on the upside-down pyramids that assure you stand on the pinnacle of performance in front of your audience – a wide stage from which to pull them in and, from common ground, build on their foundations towards things they haven’t discovered … sorry I think I got carried away with all the new things running around in my head, criss-crossing in front of each other like Shriners in their mini-cars during a parade.

How about I leave you with a few photos from the last two weeks? You really don’t need to hear all the details of exploring Science North, petting a porcupine, going to a party and getting jumped, spending a 100 $ in a week on restaurants and dining … no, these things are much better left out. Enjoy the photos, some are mine, others stolen from classmates.

Yes, I got to pet him. Surprisingly fuzzy.

A porcupine at Science North. Yes, I got to pet him. Surprisingly fuzzy.

A beaver. No I did not get to pet him. I imagine also surprisingly fuzzy.

A beaver at Science North. No I did not get to pet him. I imagine also surprisingly fuzzy.

Butterflies! So many butterflies.

Butterflies! So many butterflies.

The Giant Nickel in Sudbury, just outside Dynamic Earth.

The Giant Nickel in Sudbury, just outside Dynamic Earth.

Safety hat? Check. Strange purple glow? Check. So what do they mine here?

Safety hat? Check. Strange purple glow? Check. So what do they mine here?

Relative humidity 99%

Relative humidity 99%

Mail from the depths of ... Sudbury!

Mail from the depths of … Sudbury!

IMG_5415

A few of us Science Communication Students. We were the only group on the tour that took the tour guide up on her offer of taking a group photo. Silly tourists.

Panning for gold.

Panning for gold.

In the end I found three flakes of gold, but they cut you off at two ... gave the third to my classmate. I'm thinking I should take up gold panning to pay for tuition.

In the end I found three flakes of gold, but they cut you off at two … I gave the third to my classmate. I’m thinking I should take up gold panning to pay for tuition.

Got my name tag for Science North. Strange not to have The Manitoba Museum on my vest.

Got my name tag for Science North. Strange not to have The Manitoba Museum on my vest.

Moustache. Bow tie. Science.

Moustache. Bow tie. Science.

Heading down to the lake. Photo credit E. Knowles.

Heading down to the lake. Photo credit E. Knowles.

My first selfie!

My first selfie!

We even discovered our own island. Regrettably, we ate all our supplies and had to return to shore.

We even discovered our own island. Regrettably, we ate all our supplies and had to return to shore. Photo credit E. Knowles.

 

