Have You Seen the Man in the Moon Lately?

The Waning Crescent Moon

The waning crescent Moon. On September 22 it will a waxing first quarter Moon.

Next to the Sun, the Moon is likely the most familiar object in our skies. Despite its familiarity, the Moon is a source of wonderment and mystery. Why does it change shape every night? How come I can see it during the day sometimes? What does the far side of the Moon look like? Is the dark side of the Moon really dark?

It is this sense of wonderment and curiosity about the Moon that the International Observe the Moon Night (InOMN) hopes will get people out on the evening of September 22, 2012 to gaze up towards our closest celestial neighbour.

The minds behind InOMN range from educators, to scientists, to NGOs and good old Moon enthusiasts. It is there hope that InOMN will encourage people to look up towards the Moon and start down a path of continued learning about not just the Moon, but all things around us in the various sciences. And with projects like the Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter, there are always news things to learn – even about our own Moon.

This September 22, I too will be out with numerous others to gaze toward our Moon and take it in its beauty and mystery and I would like to invite you to join me. I will be set up with my modest little telescope (but still has great views of the lunar surface) at Churchill Drive Park (Churchill Dr. And Casey St.) in South Osborne at 20h00 (8 pm). I will be more than happy to share what I know about the Moon with you and do my best to answer your Moon questions, or any other questions that come to mind.

You can also check out my Facebook event for maps to the event and details.

If you want to throw your own Moon Night event, got to the International Observe the Moon Night website for ideas and tips, then get a bunch of your friends and enjoy the Moon that night.

