Birds On The Sun

Over the past few weeks I have been trying my hand at solar photography. I’ve been taking my filtered telescope out when I get home from work for half an hour or so and learning to take pictures of the sun, mostly by trial and error with my little point and shoot.

It has been a very rewarding process and it has been a great way to decompress after a day at work. I even try sketching the sunspots from time to time as well. My hope is to eventually combine my sun pictures into a short movie so I can show how the sunspots move on the photosphere from day to day.

In recent days I managed to chance a picture of a bird flying in front of the sun, so I thought I would share it with you along with a few other pictures I’ve taken over the last few weeks.

I’ll probably start work on sorting through the images and getting the video starts once winter rolls around, the sun will be setting to early for me to get descent pictures and I may not feel so inclined to be outside in the minus temperatures.

I hope you enjoy these.

A bird flying in front of the Sun at just the right moment.

A nice grouping of sunspots on September 2, 2012. One of the many pictures I hope to turn into a short movie showing the movement of the sunspots over time.

Went out one night hoping the catch the aurora borealis, but all I got was the Big Dipper. Still made for a lovely evening.

