Supermoon

This past Saturday May 5th was a great opportunity to take in an evening stroll as the night was well lit by this year’s supermoon. A supermoon, also know by its technical term perigee-syzygy, is when a full moon that occurs at or close to the Moon’s perigee, that is to say the point in the Moon’s orbit that is closest to the Earth. This position slightly increases its size and brightness in our night skies.

I went out with my roommate and my telescope, despite the cloud cover, to take in this annual event. As luck would have the clouds did clear a short half hour after we set up and we were able to take in the Moon. We even managed to catch Venus, Mars and Saturn despite the added light from the Moon.

That night I tried my hand for the first time at some afocal astrophotography using my little point and shoot on manual. I’m still figuring everything out, but I hope you enjoy the few pictures I managed to get.

The close up images were taken with my 80mm Orion Table Top GoScope refractor. I forgot to write down the eyepiece I was using, but I believe it was 10mm.

The supermoon just above the trees.

The Moon with some cloud cover.

The supermoon in the night sky.

 

